Death…. Death…. Death…. Death…. Death… and Alexander Hamilton

I’m using Mary‘s format for this because we are in the same book club (yay!). I really want to applaud everyone’s selection for book club. I really felt that I had to use all sort of brain muscles reading them that I have not used in a very long while.

Terence & Sherry – “A Perfect Day for a Bananafish” by J.D. Salinger

This was my favorite of the readings. I loved the absurdity, the way that everything was so uncertain for most of the story and cute and funny and then sad. I liked the whimsy in the story, from the bananafish to the paleness to the long descriptions of what she was wearing and how her clothes look.

Ashley & Mary “The Federalist Papers, No. 1” – Alexander Hamilton

This was the only one of the readings that didn’t have anything to do with death (though technically Alexander Hamilton is a dead white guy). I don’t remember reading this in school so I will admit I read the paper and I immediately read the wikipedia page on the paper so I could understand what I just read. I’ve always been an Alexander Hamilton fan (who isn’t?) and it was interesting to me how different his writing is from other people of the same age like Madison or Jefferson. He seems to write in a manner I would call “english” in that the sentences are very long and complicated.

Leigh & Rebecca – “The Blind Spot” by Hector Hugh Munro

I  love the ending of this story. I’m never hear any Munro before but now I see why people like them so much.

Meggan & Kelly – “In the Cemetery Where Al Jolson is Buried” by Amy Hempel

For some reason, I felt like I understood this story the least. Maybe it’s because I’ve never visited a loved one in a formal hospital. I didn’t feel like I got many of the references as much. Perhaps because I’m not from California.

Esti & Laura A. – “All the Books in the World… Except One” by Darko Macan and Tihomir Celanonic

This reminded me of Bruce Coville, who I used to read as a kid, specifically of the Magic Shop books. I liked the sense of the wonder in the story of the books as sort of a vehicle of emotional nostalgia. For many people (myself included) I believe this is one of the things that really draws people to libraries. I like how a book has almost a magical power beyond what money means (because after all the book was only worth two euro). I also liked the colors of the comic, the moments and the dialog. It was really a very fast read. I had to read it twice to really understand it.

About Ilana the Librarian

I am an aspiring librarian at the University of Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Death…. Death…. Death…. Death…. Death… and Alexander Hamilton

  1. Mary Buchner says:

    I feel you on the Amy Hempel story. As someone who is both from California and has visited loved ones in the hospital, I was empathetic all over this story, but I can see how it would fall flat if you didn’t have those references.

    The description of the fear of earthquakes is SPOT ON, in my opinion.

    Also, you’re welcome (again) for not posting about death. 🙂

  2. Kristin says:

    You may have won the award for best blog post title this week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

