The ADDIE Model and Screencasting

For class this week we read  “Creating the one-shot library workshop: a step-by-step guide” by Jerilyn R. Veldof (available here) as well as several articles profiling projects creating screencasts.

The Veldof reading was very timely for myself as I was actually teaching a one-shot workshop shop this week at the ALA Future of Libraries Quasi-Con. This reading very much affected how I structured my class, Free Geographic Information Systems: Hacking Google Maps and More. For instance, as a method of trying to get a sense of the people in my class and their skills levels, I started the class with an introduction to me, and then had them go around and say their name and their experience with GIS or Maps. While it took some time (5 minutes) it really helped me get a sense of who was in the class so I could tailor the experience toward what ended up being my audience. My audience for this event was mainly students with some GIS experience and internet experience, so I taught the class at a higher level than I would normally, doing things like comparing something to XML or assuming people could get my website and click on some links. I also included an evaluation form on the website, so that I could get quick evaluation and feedback as I may teach this workshop for the class later this semester.

What was also generally interesting to me about the ADDIE reading was how much time was on the class was not spent teaching the class. There was an amazing of prepwork and reflection built into the model. Following the model clearly lead just by the sheer number of steps to more time spent on a workshop. I didn’t know if this could entirely be legitimized in all situations. Certainly it makes sense when one is a Instruction Librarian and this is your full time job many steps makes sense. But what about the many thoughtful library volunteers who teach classes in their spare time? How could this model be adapted to fit their needs?

In terms of the screencasting readings, I will say that not every screencast is a one-shot workshop. Clearly the module described  in Yelinek et al 2008 was much more modular and actually was a series of workshops. I will say that as part of my Drupal class last semester, I did watch many, many screencasts and tutorials. Sometimes, they were useful and the screencast medium was the best way to convey the information. Other times, I could have used a sentence or a document I could CRL+F through to get to the part where I was actually having problems. Screencasts also are problematic because they are really hard to evaluate. Using something like Google Analytics, you may be able to find out how many people opened the page of the screencast or maybe watched it. But it really doesn’t tell you much about how they responded to it, what they learned and how they felt about the experience in the same way that having the people in person would or event if they had been forced to interact with a series of links.

Despite its problems, I see screencasting as a good trend. I do the majority of my homework not during 9-5 times, usually the night before they are due. Even as a total library lover, I never have the foresight to attend the workshop before this period of rapid productivity. I am more likely to use a resource that fits this workflow. I can attend the workshop via screencast at midnight, something that I could never do nor want to do with an in person workshop. I use screencasting often at the reference desk on chat reference because it helps me quickly show a user how to navigate a series of links and quickly trouble shot problems. It’s a great resource for many exciting things.

About Ilana the Librarian

I am an aspiring librarian at the University of Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The ADDIE Model and Screencasting

  1. adamsliz says:

    After reading your entry, I keep coming back to the paragraph about tailoring the presentation to meet the needs of your users. Based upon classroom discussion yesterday, it seems like this is a really critical part, if not the most critical part, of presenting a workshop. You could have really great information to share; you could present it in a seemingly informative way and with great enthusiasm; but if you don’t focus specifically on the needs and pre-existing knowledge of your users, you don’t really have a “great” presentation. I think that your activity at the beginning of the presentation was a really cool way of gauging the needs of everyone, and I might have to steal it (or a similar version of it, not involving GIS or Maps) for future use! From that one activity, you had a greater idea of what people and can’t do. That’s a pretty powerful tool.

    The intense amount of reflection found in the ADDIE cycle seemed slightly intimidating to me, and I agree with your concerns about whether volunteer teachers have the same amount of time to devote to the process. I also think, however, that librarians who volunteer to teach probably teach the same class often. At my hometown library, at least, I know that the classes offered occurred frequently over a period of time, and that the same individuals tend to teach them. These workshops often focused on technological topics, such as using Microsoft Office or Facebook. They are not always super involved and, thus, may attract similar users. Because of these factors, self-reflection and going through all steps in advance may actually save time in the long run. Moreover, if you prepare a class in advance and return to it, I think you will note minor changes that should be made and ways that could be improved. Of course, all this depends upon whether the volunteer librarian is teaching this class often or whether it is a one time thing. It depends on the budget of the library for new programs; it depends on the kind of library. There are so many contexts to take into consideration, and I guess, as with many things within information studies, there does not seem to be a clear-cut answer.

    • I’m not going to say that going around in a circle and having them say their name and their experience is always going to work. One easy thing to pick on is that you can’t change your powerpoint slides to fit your new audience.
      For example, I had included many powerpoint slides about what GIS was and why you should care about it as a librarian. After doing the room exercise, I realized this was kind of like preaching to choir because they were all already sold on GIS, just wanted to know how to hack it!

  2. Laura B says:

    I appreciate the comments thus far, Ilana and Liz, about going around to room to gauge level of experience, but you’re definitely right, Ilana, that the slides are usually fixed, so unless you’re somehow able to gauge the level of experience during the planning stages, there’s not much you can do about the slides. I also just wanted to add that it takes a higher degree of expertise to tailor your workshop (to the extent you can) to whoever happens to be present, spontaneously, as was your case with the GIS workshop. You have to be more in the moment to do this, something that the more nervous public speakers may have a harder time doing, so congrats, Ilana, for your candidness and willingness to think on your feet.

Leave a Reply

