Learning 2.0: Blogging, Reflecting, Fusion

Like Mary, I also was not really sure what to do with these readings. Perhaps this is one of those “apprentice becomes a master” moments where we learn our learning about learning (via the Fontichiaro article) was actually a form of learning in itself and was learned by others before us. The truth was inside ourselves the whole time.

There were some parts of the Library 2.0 article which did not resonate particularly with me. For example, a computer which never gets turned on because no one knows the password is emblematic of far larger problems than just some computer illiteracy. But I also thought the idea of graduated learning through blogging or other reflection might actually have some real use in my later iterations as a librarian. For instance, I think it would be a great addition to an information literacy class with a technology focus. I am imagining something like a research journal but also including reflections upon technology as well.

As I was reading, my thoughts also turned to current state of computer fluency among faculty of many academic departments including the one I currently work in. For these users (who often do not know about library initiatives like the faculty exploratory) online modules and reflections might be an excellent way to make lasting impact on their learning.

Overall, I have enjoyed the blogging in this class. I never found it overwhelming to spend some time thinking through concepts and looking for application among my own professional work. I actually have often wished some of my other classes were implement blogging activities. I also enjoyed the cohort idea. Being a second year, I tend to interact with the same people all the time. Being in a cohort gave me some intellectual exposure to people outside my smaller circle.

I also liked the Fushion article because it emphasized learning over heirarchy. A teacher who was not a master teacher could nonetheless be an expert in some way. This resonated well with my own way of looking at the world. When you realize there is always something people can teach you, the world is a much more exciting place.

About Ilana the Librarian

I am an aspiring librarian at the University of Michigan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning 2.0: Blogging, Reflecting, Fusion

  1. Hi –

    I’m sorry that these readings were perplexing. You’re right to be disturbed about some of the incidents Blower and Reed observed, and more importantly, seeing them not only as isolated incidents but as a collection of clues that identified the urgency and necessity of 23 Things. Another way to look at the articles is to pull back the lens and search for larger themes across readings.

    For example:

    1) professional development isn’t just a one-shot book club or workshop or webinar. This week’s readings represent extended peer-guided learning over time, and

    2) we don’t always invent programs from scratch. Like many public libraries around the world and some state-level initiatives, I adapted Blowers’ 23 Things for my specific audience. And that’s a great way to hit the ground running when developing professional learning activities, and

    3) we may not always need to look outside our organizations for professional leadership. Sometimes, in-house expertise can be leveraged.

  2. adamsliz says:

    I agree with the meta-ness of yoru first paragraph; in fact, that’s pretty much what my whole post was about. I also think using blogging/incremental learning would be a great research journal. In some ways, it seems like blogging may serve as a historical record (or archive, if you will); it’s something that shows where you came from and what you can now do. And if considered a research journal right from the start, it seems like it could provide a step-by-step framework for re-tracing your technological steps. I think both of these aspects could have greater implications beyond the learning process. For example, you could use blogging reflections as a way of justifying expensive technologies to the public and to the Board of Directors. Through reflections and practical experiences outlined in the research journal/blog, you show how the technology has improved your own skills and, in turn, how it could improve the skills of your patrons. You’ve already demonstrated that it has value to someone: you.

  3. Laura B says:

    Ilana, you make some good points that are worth repeating in a comment. It’s so true that there are such rich resources on campus, like the Faculty Exploratory and KNC, and faculty and students alike are too often not aware of their existence or if they are, of how helpful the workshops AND THE STAFF can be. I also second your thoughts about the blogging experience, and I think it would have been a great element in many of my other classes as well. We learn by reflecting on what we have learned and what we don’t yet understand, and reading each other’s blogs has also been really eye-opening.

  4. I also thought blogging for this class was useful. When the semester gets really busy it can be difficult to find time to get readings done for all of my classes, but blogging always gave me the extra incentive I needed to get the readings done.

Leave a Reply

